NERCHE announces the 2016 Lynton Award Finalists

NERCHE is delighted to announce the selection of five finalists for the 2016 Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement for Early Career Faculty. 

Ernest Lynton framed faculty scholarly activity as inclusive, collaborative, and problem-oriented work in which academics share knowledge-generating tasks with the public and involve community partners and students as participants in public problem solving. The community-engaged work of the following faculty members serves as a model of the public scholarship that Lynton championed:

  • Nicole Breazeale, Sociology, Western Kentucky University-Glasgow
  • Amy L. Cook, Counseling and School Psychology, University of Massachusetts Boston
  • Tania D. Mitchell, Higher Education, University of Minnesota
  • Jes Therkelsen, Mass Communication and Journalism, California State University, Fresno
  • Mara Casey Tieken, Education, Bates College

For more information, visit the 2016 Lynton Award Finalists web page.

The recipient of the Award will be announced in early September 2016, and the Award will be presented at the 22nd Annual Conference of the Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities (CUMU), "Charting the Future of Metropolitan Universities,” which will be held from October 23-25, 2016 in Washington, DC.

NERCHE would like to thank the Lynton Award finalists, as well as all of the nominees, for their commitment to connecting their teaching, research/creative activity, and service to community engagement in the context of social justice and for pushing the boundaries of faculty work in fundamentally new directions.

Learn more about the Lynton Award >>